Hmm…

I read this book a long long time ago about a group of people emerging out of our culture… The author referred to them as “bourgeois bohemians”…

“Combining the free-spirited, artistic rebelliousness of the bohemian beatnik or hippie with the worldly ambitions of their bourgeois corporate forefathers, the Bobo is a comfortable contortion of caring capitalism. ‘It’s not about making money,’ writes Brooks, ‘it’s about doing something you love. Life should be an extended hobby.”

 

Oh that’s right! I forgot to mention, one of my life’s hobbies is giving people shots. Right, I’ll have to add that to my facebook. Anyone whose life is not an extended hobby should seriously reconsider themselves…right?  I only mention this because I overheard a conversation in my locally overpriced grocery store, where one young twenty-something said to another, “Ooh, well I’ve been trying to get Brian to eat more root vegetables…”, and her friend replied, “He probably buys them from Starmarket, though, so it’s a lost cause”, and they both laughed that knowing laugh. They then went on to laugh about how he’s “always working! He just doesn’t get it!”  I’ll tell you what, “Brian”, you can come to our place and eat whatever kind of vegetables you want. In fact, I’ll take them from the freezer and microwave them, and you can drink a beer during that time. Then when you’re 99 years old, you can call your old girlfriend and announce that you,too, are still alive!! And you can tell her that your bank account is 100% larger than hers, because you haven’t been shopping at organic markets for the past 75 years! And you worked!! Shocker.

One response to “Hmm…

  1. mom

    you are so droll….you make me laugh out loud all alone in fornt of my computer!!

Leave a Reply

